Disaster Unemployment Deadline Approaches

Main Content
Release date: 
March 11, 2002
Release Number: 

Kansas City, Mo.-- State and federal officials announced today that March 11 is a critical day for residents in 10 Missouri counties who wish to apply for Disaster Unemployment Assistance due to the January ice storm.

Residents of the 10 Missouri counties added to the disaster declaration of February 6, 2002, have two additional weeks to apply for Disaster Unemployment Assistance. Claims should be filed as soon as possible, but no later than March 25 for individuals residing in Barton, Cedar, Clark, Daviess, DeKalb, Knox, Lewis, Marion, Ralls, and Scotland counties.

Individuals who need information about how to file a claim should call (800) 788-4002. Disaster Unemployment Assistance is intended for individuals who lost employment as a result of the storm and who are not eligible for benefits under a state's regular unemployment insurance program. Farmers, agricultural producers, other self-employed individuals or individuals who are denied regular unemployment insurance benefits may be eligible for Disaster Unemployment Assistance.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top