Community Teams Visit Disaster Affected Kansas Counties

Main Content
Release date: 
February 26, 2002
Release Number: 

Emporia, Kan. -- Community relations specialists from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) are working with Kansas Emergency Management (KDEM) and local community leaders to reach out to Kansas residents and businesses affected in 35 counties by the severe ice storms that began Jan. 29.

The teams are offering individuals and business owners information about available disaster assistance programs, including grants from our Disaster Housing program that assist persons who were unable to stay in their homes due to loss of heat and electricity and had to find alternative accommodations.

"We rely on our community teams not only to get the word out but also to find out first hand the problems communities and individuals are facing," FEMA's Federal Coordinating Officer Carlos Mitchell explained.

Team members have been out in the field for the past two weeks and continue to meet with representatives of community-based agencies, community leaders, and public officials. When community teams identify unmet needs, information will be communicated to the state, federal, or voluntary staff best able to respond.

"The focus now is setting up temporary Disaster Recovery Centers in their towns to allow residents to interact face-to-face with disaster assistance program representatives," said State Coordinating Officer Chuck Bredahl.

Team members will be reminding people that to apply for disaster assistance, they must call the toll-free number at 1-800-462-FEMA (3362). For people who are speech or hearing impaired, the TTY number is 1-800-462-7585. Hours of operation are from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., seven days a week.

The temporary Disaster Recovery Centers will be open from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., at the following locations on the following dates:

Monday and Tuesday, Feb. 25 and 26
Douglas County
County Fairgrounds, Bldg #1
2120 Harper
Lawrence, KS

Sumner County
Emergency Managers Office
106 East Botkin
Wellington, KS

Wednesday and Thursday, Feb. 27 and 28
Franklin County
Franklin County Annex Bldg.
Annex Meeting Room
1418 South Main
Ottawa, KS

Wednesday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday., Feb. 27 thru March 2
Cowley County
Northwest Community Center
615 West Birch
Arkansas City, KS

Friday and Saturday, March 1 and 2
Miami County
Miami County Admin. Bldg.
121 South Pearl
Paola, KS

Monday and Thursday, March 4 and 7 Linn County
Courthouse Annex, Commission Room
306 Main
Mound City, KS

Monday and Thursday, March 4 and 7
Butler County
Lakepoint Medical Office
2820 North Ohio St.
Augusta, KS

Friday and Saturday, March 8 and 9
Anderson County
Anderson Community Bldg.
Park Road & North Lake
Garnett, KS

Friday and Saturday, March 8 and 9
Greenwood County
Eureka Community Bldg.
100 South Jefferson
Eureka, KS

Monday and Tuesday, March 11 and 12
Allen County
Riverside Park
Community Bldg.
Iola, KS

Monday and Tuesday, March 11 and 12
Elk County
Cox Bldg., West Room
120 West Washington
Howard, KS

Wednesday, March 13
Neosho County
Central Park Pavilion
101 South Forest
Chanute, KS

Thursday and Friday, March 13 and 14
Neosho County
Neosho County Courthouse, basement meeting room
100 South Main
Erie, KS

Thursday and Friday, March 13 and 14
Montgomery County
County Courthouse
Commission Room
200 Main
Independence, KS

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top