Two Week Deadline For Disaster Unemployment Nears

Main Content
Release date: 
February 23, 2002
Release Number: 

Kansas City, MO -- State and federal officials have announced that March 11, 2002 is the deadline to apply for Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) for residents in 33 Missouri counties who are unemployed due to the severe winter ice storm.

This deadline affects residents in the counties included in the initial Presidential disaster declaration. Those counties are: Adair, Audrain, Bates, Benton, Boone, Buchanan, Caldwell, Carroll, Cass, Chariton, Clay, Clinton, Cooper, Grundy, Henry, Howard, Jackson, Johnson, Lafayette, Linn, Livingston, Macon, Monroe, Morgan, Pettis, Platte, Randolph, Ray, Saline, Shelby, St. Clair, Sullivan, and Vernon counties. Individuals in these counties should file a claim no later than March, 11, 2002.

Disaster unemployment assistance is intended for individuals who are not eligible for benefits under a state's regular unemployment insurance program. Farmers or other self-employed individuals and individuals who are denied regular unemployment insurance benefits may now be eligible for disaster unemployment assistance.

Individuals who need information about how to file a claim should call (800) 788-4002. Claims should be filed as soon as possible, but no later than March 11, 2002 for those who live in the 33 counties listed above.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top