Main Content

Twenty-Two Kansas Counties Designated For Public Assistance

Release date: 
February 15, 2002
Release Number: 

Emporia, Kansas -- Disaster assistance for 22 Kansas counties has been expanded to include aid for local governments affected by the recent severe ice storms, the head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today.

FEMA Director Joe M. Allbaugh said the additional assistance was approved following a review of damage data gathered by federal and state disaster recovery officials. Under the original declaration issued by President Bush on Feb. 6, the counties were designated for aid to individuals, families and business owners.

"Our continuing commitment is not only to help meet the recovery needs of devastated families and businesses," Allbaugh said, " but to ensure that the vital community services they also depend on are restored as quickly and efficiently as possible."

Under the expanded assistance, Allbaugh said affected local governments in Allen, Anderson, Barber, Bourbon, Butler, Chautauqua, Coffey, Cowley, Crawford, Douglas, Elk, Franklin, Greenwood, Labette, Linn, Miami, Montgomery, Neosho, Osage, Sumner, Wilson, and Woodson counties are eligible to apply for federal funds to pay 75 percent of the approved cost for debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads, buildings and utilities. Johnson and Wyandotte counties were approved for Public Assistance on Feb. 6.

Procedures for requesting the assistance will be explained at a series of applicant briefings at locations to be announced by state and federal disaster officials.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: