More Missouri Counties Designated For Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
February 15, 2002
Release Number: 

Kansas City, MO -- Disaster assistance has been made available in more Missouri counties to help residents and local governments recover from the effects of the recent ice storm, the head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today.

Ten more Missouri counties have been added to the Presidential disaster declaration for Individual Assistance from FEMA. Residents in Barton, Cedar, Clark, Daviess, DeKalb, Knox, Lewis, Marion, Ralls, and Scotland Counties are now eligible to apply for grants to help pay for temporary lodging needs, minor home repairs, and other serious disaster-related expenses. Low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration also will be available to cover residential and business losses not fully covered by insurance.

Also effective today, FEMA's Public Assistance program has been extended to include Cedar, Chariton, Clinton, Henry, Knox, Lewis, Macon, Marion, Monroe, St. Clair, Shelby, and Vernon. Governmental entities and certain private non-profit organizations in these counties are now eligible to apply for federal funding to pay 75 percent of the approved costs for debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads, buildings and utilities. Procedures for requesting Public Assistance will be explained at a series of applicant briefings at locations to be announced shortly by state and federal disaster officials.

FEMA Director Joe M. Allbaugh said the counties were added to the list of eligible jurisdictions at the request of Governor Holden after a review of damage data gathered by federal and state disaster recovery officials.

"We remain committed to ensuring that every qualified family and business receives the help they need and that vital community facilities are restored to full service as quickly as possible," Allbaugh said.

Allbaugh said that stricken residents and business owners in 43 Missouri counties are now eligible to apply for a wide range of state and federal disaster assistance programs under the major disaster declaration issued by President Bush on February 6.

Affected residents and business owners in the following Missouri counties may apply for assistance immediately: Adair, Audrain, Barton, Bates, Benton, Boone, Buchanan, Caldwell, Carroll, Cass, Cedar, Chariton, Clark, Clay, Clinton, Cooper, Daviess, DeKalb, Grundy, Henry, Howard, Jackson, Johnson, Knox, Lafayette, Lewis, Linn, Livingston, Macon, Marion, Monroe, Morgan, Pettis, Platte, Ralls, Randolph, Ray, Saline, Scotland, Shelby, St. Clair, Sullivan, and Vernon.

The only way for individuals to apply for federal/state assistance is by calling the toll-free registration number, 1-800-621-FEMA, between 8 a.m. and 6 p.m., seven days a week until further notice. Those with a speech or hearing impairment may call a special TTY number at 1-800-462-7585.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top