Main Content

Disaster Assistance Available Apply Now

Main Content
Release date: 
February 11, 2002
Release Number: 

Emporia, Kansas -- State and federal disaster assistance is now available to residents of 35 Kansas counties that were affected by the severe winter ice storms that wreaked havoc on the state beginning on Jan. 29.

Authorities are encouraging all persons in the declared counties who suffered damages from this storm to register for aid with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). The recovery process begins by calling FEMA's toll-free registration number 1-800-621-FEMA (TTY 1-800-462-7585). Registration lines are open from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., seven days a week. "One of our primary concerns is that residents who have been displaced from their homes by the severe winter storms find a warm and secure place to stay," said Federal Coordinating Officer Carlos Mitchell of FEMA. State and federal disaster assistance may include temporary housing for people who were displaced from their homes and grants for minimal home repairs to make the house habitable.

The 35 declared counties are: Allen, Anderson, Barber, Bourbon, Butler, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Coffey, Comanche, Cowley, Crawford, Douglas, Elk, Franklin, Greenwood, Harper, Jefferson, Johnson, Kingman, Kiowa, Labettc, Leavenworth, Linn, Lyon, Miami, Montgomery, Neosho, Osage, Pratt, Sedgwick, Shawnee, Sumner, Wilson, Woodson, and Wyandotte.

Applicants for assistance should have the following information readily available:

  • Current and pre-disaster address (if appropriate)

  • Social Security number

  • Current telephone numbers

  • Insurance coverage, policy number(s) and agent's name

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: