Main Content

Tuesday Is Last Chance To Apply For Disaster Aid

Release date: 
February 4, 2002
Release Number: 

Atlanta, GA -- Only one day remains for residents of Alabama's 19 disaster counties to register for assistance with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

Anyone who suffered uninsured losses as a result of the tornadoes and storms of Nov. 24 and 25 has until Tuesday, Feb. 5, to seek state and federal financial assistance to recover losses from damage that occurred within any of the declared counties. The toll-free registration number is 1-800-621-FEMA (3362).

The 19 counties are: Autauga, Blount, Butler, Calhoun, Cherokee, Clay, Dale, DeKalb, Etowah, Fayette, Jefferson, Lamar, Lawrence, Madison, Marion, Marshall, St. Clair, Talladega and Winston.

The 60-day registration period provided under federal law expires at 6 p.m. Feb. 5, 2002. The registration number for persons with speech or hearing impairments is 1-800-462-7585.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: