Main Content

Disaster Assistance Application Deadline Nears

Main Content
Release date: 
January 22, 2002
Release Number: 

Jackson, MS -- Only two weeks remain to apply for state and federal disaster assistance to help with recovery from the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding that ravaged Mississippi during November 24 through December 17.

The deadline is Tuesday, February 5, 2002.

All that is required to apply for disaster assistance is one toll-free phone call to the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). That number is 1-800-621-3362, or 1-800-462-7585 for the hearing or speech impaired.

Failure to apply will close the door on the availability of a whole range of federal and state disaster assistance, including low-interest loans from the U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA). February 5 also is the last day to return completed SBA loan applications.

Assistance is available to any eligible resident of the 17 Mississippi declared counties who suffered uninsured or underinsured losses due to the severe weather. All who incurred damage are urged to register, even if their property was insured, to protect their right to assistance should hidden damage appear after reaching a settlement with the insurance company.

The 17 declared counties are: Bolivar, Coahoma, Desoto, Grenada, Hinds, Humphreys, Lafayette, Leake, Madison, Panola, Quitman, Scott, Sunflower, Tallahatchie, Tate, Tunica, and Washington.

To date, 1,751 have registered for assistance.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: