Disaster Unemployment Assistance Now Available in Coahoma and Tallahatchie Counties

Main Content
Release date: 
January 15, 2002
Release Number: 

Jackson, MS -- Residents located in Coahoma and Tallahatchie counties who are unemployed because of the recent severe storms, tornadoes and flooding are now eligible to apply for disaster unemployment assistance.

State Coordinating Officer for the disaster recovery effort, Leon Shaifer, reported that the State of Mississippi Employment Security Commission has requested and has received supplemental funding for disaster unemployment assistance for Coahoma and Tallahatchie counties.

The Disaster Unemployment Assistance program covers people who would otherwise be ineligible for unemployment compensation, including agricultural and hourly paid workers, salaried employees, the self-employed and other categories of workers not included in the regular unemployment program. The special assistance program was activated following President Bush's disaster declaration on December 7.

Gracia Szczech, the federal official in charge of the disaster recovery effort, said, "Claims for disaster unemployment assistance should be filed at the unemployment insurance office of the Mississippi Employment Security Commission nearest to the person's home. This emergency benefit program is entirely funded by the federal government; therefore, there will be no increases in taxes paid by Mississippi employers to the Unemployment Compensation Trust Fund."

The deadline to apply for unemployment assistance for those living in Coahoma and Tallahatchie counties is February 13, 2002. Workers in the previously approved counties of Grenada, Leake, Lafayette, Scott and Tunica, have until January 28 to apply.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top