Tate County Designated for Public Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
January 11, 2002
Release Number: 

Jackson, MS -- Disaster assistance for Tate County has been expanded to include aid for local governments affected by the recent severe storms, tornadoes and flooding in Mississippi, the head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today.

FEMA Director Joe M. Allbaugh said the additional assistance was approved following a review of damage data gathered by federal, state and local disaster recovery officials. Under the original declaration issued by President Bush on December 7, the county was designated for aid to individuals, families and business owners.

"Our continuing commitment is not only to help meet the recovery needs of devastated families and businesses," Allbaugh said, " but to ensure that the vital community services they also depend on are restored as quickly and efficiently as possible."

Under the expanded assistance, Allbaugh said affected local governments in Tate County are eligible to apply for federal funds to pay 75 percent of the approved cost for debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads, buildings and utilities.

Procedures for requesting the assistance will be explained to community officials by the Mississippi Emergency Management Agency.

The 17 Mississippi counties designated for public assistance are: Benton, Bolivar, Coahoma, Holmes, Humphreys, Leake, Marshall, Panola, Prentiss, Quitman, Sharkey, Sunflower, Tallahatchie, Tate, Tippah, Tunica and Washington.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top