Caddo, Kiowa Counties In Oklahoma Now Eligible For Disaster Aid

Main Content
Release date: 
November 16, 2001
Release Number: 

Oklahoma City, OK -- State and federal officials announce that disaster assistance is now available for tornado damages in Caddo and Kiowa counties. This declaration follows a review of additional information regarding damages caused during the October 9 and 10 storms and tornadoes in the Southwestern region of the state.

The declaration covers individual as well as infrastructure damages and losses in Caddo and Kiowa counties. Residents are eligible to apply for a variety of programs including disaster housing assistance, low interest loans to repair or replace storm-damaged property, or grants for serious needs and necessary expenses not met by other programs. Governmental and qualified non-profit organizations with losses caused by the storms may qualify for the repair or replacement of damaged buildings, equipment and other infrastructure costs.

State and federal disaster assistance programs help cover the costs of damages and losses that are under- or uninsured. Some disaster aid does not have to be paid back, while other help may come in the form of low interest disaster loans. Residents and business owners are urged to call the toll-free registration number at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Friday. The system will be closed on Thanksgiving Day.

"Federal, state, and local governments, along with volunteer agencies are working together to meet immediate needs and address the long-term recovery issues," said Joe D. Bray, Federal Coordinating Officer.

Three Oklahoma counties...Caddo, Kiowa and Washita...are now eligible for individual and public assistance.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top