Ten Counties Outside New York City Eligible For Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
October 16, 2001
Release Number: 

New York, NY -- Residents and business owners in the 10 counties added to the Sept. 11 presidential disaster declaration should apply for federal and state disaster assistance if they were affected by the WTC attack, disaster-recovery officials emphasized.

Anyone in Delaware, Dutchess, Nassau, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk, Sullivan, Ulster and Westchester who was affected by the WTC attack should call the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) registration line for assistance: 1-800-462-9029. People with speech- or hearing-impairments should call TTY at 1-800-462-7585. Lines are open Monday through Saturday from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.

"The suffering and hardships caused by the tragic attack on the World Trade Center reach far beyond Lower Manhattan," said Edward F. Jacoby, Jr., state coordinating officer, "We certainly welcome the additional support from our partners at the federal level."

Disaster assistance can help homeowners, renters and businesses recover from the effects of the WTC attack. The wide range of state and federal disaster assistance programs now available to residents of these 10 counties affected by the WTC attack includes: funding for people who face potential foreclosure or eviction as a result of the disaster; U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low-interest loans for individuals and businesses to repair or replace damaged property; unemployment assistance; crisis counseling; and grants to meet serious needs and necessary expenses not met by other programs. Families of missing or injured may also be eligible for assistance through the New York State Crime Victims Board: 1-800-247-8035(TTY: 1-888-289-9747).

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top