All New York Counties To Receive Federal Assistance For Emergency Services Provided In WTC Attack

Main Content
Release date: 
October 5, 2001
Release Number: 

New York, NY -- The disaster declaration signed by President Bush in the aftermath of the WTC attack has been amended to include 57 additional counties now eligible for Public Assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). This amendment makes all New York counties eligible for Public Assistance to cover the cost of emergency protective services associated with the Sept. 11 event.

"The federal funds now available will fully reimburse state and local governments for their expenditures in providing emergency services immediately following the Trade Center attack," said FEMA Director Joe Allbaugh. "Those services, all offered in an effort to save lives and to protect property and the public health, were invaluable. Our decision to cover costs of this sort is part of our ongoing effort to assess and address effects of this disaster, at Ground Zero and beyond."

"Moments after the horrific attack on September 11, many counties responded to New York City's call for assistance," said Edward F. Jacoby, Jr., state coordinating officer. "The response was truly inspiring as hundreds of men and women from across the state -- from firefighters and police to ambulance personnel and other emergency responders -- came to help their friends and neighbors in the city."

The 47 counties which will receive aid include: Albany, Allegany, Broome, Cattaraugus, Cayuga, Chautauqua, Chemung, Chenango, Clinton, Columbia, Cortland, Erie, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Genesee, Greene, Hamilton, Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Livingston, Madison, Monroe, Montgomery, Niagara, Oneida, Onondaga, Ontario, Orleans, Oswego, Otsego, Rensselaer, St. Lawrence, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Schuyler, Seneca, Steuben, Tioga, Tompkins, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Wyoming and Yates.

The amended disaster declaration means that 15 counties are now eligible for both Public Assistance as well as Individual Assistance: Bronx, Delaware, Dutchess, Kings (Brooklyn), Nassau, New York (Manhattan), Orange, Putnam, Queens, Richmond (Staten Island), Rockland, Suffolk, Sullivan, Ulster and Westchester.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top