FEMA Infrastructure Assistance For Kentucky Storm Damage Tops $10 Million

Main Content
Release date: 
October 4, 2001
Release Number: 

Atlanta, GA -- Officials of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Kentucky Division of Emergency Management (KyEM) said today that a total of $10,426,863 has been obligated to date for state and county public assistance projects.

More than 90 percent of the funding, or $9,632,468, will pay for construction costs associated with the repair or replacement of roads and bridges damaged by the severe storms that hit the state in late July.

Other obligated funds cover reimbursement for such disaster-related costs as debris removal, emergency protective measures (including police overtime during the storms), and repair of water control facilities, public buildings and affected public utilities.

Federal funds pay for 75 percent of approved public assistance projects with the remaining share funded locally.

President Bush declared twenty Kentucky counties eligible for public assistance on August 15th. The counties are: Bath, Clay, Elliott, Estill, Floyd, Harrison, Johnson, Knott, Lawrence, Letcher, Lewis, Livingston, Mason, Menifee, Perry, Pike, Powell, Rockcastle, Rowan, and Whitley. The state has been reimbursed a total of $4,166,721 through the public assistance program.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top