FEMA Operations Continue: $344 Million Committed So Far

Main Content
Release date: 
October 1, 2001
Release Number: 

New York, NY -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has committed more than $344 million to the response and recovery effort since the Sept. 11 attack on the World Trade Center. Funds expended to date have been used to address immediate needs such as emergency services, debris removal, disaster housing grants and special mission assignments to other federal agencies. The U.S. Small Business Administration has approved more that $9.4 million in low-interest loans to homeowners, renters, business owners and non-profit organizations impacted by the disaster.

FEMA continues to cooperate with city, state and volunteer agencies in an effort to bring comfort and aid to those affected by the disaster. Below are highlights of federal involvement:

  • 1,657 FEMA personnel have been deployed to New York City to assist in recovery operations.

  • More than 20 FEMA Urban Search and Rescue (USAR) Task Forces have served on a rotational basis in New York since Sept. 11 representing a total of 1,240 firefighters and 80 search dogs.

  • As of last night, 144,629 tons of debris (9,748 truckloads) from the WTC site had been removed to a sorting and disposal site. In addition, the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers has supervised the removal of 44,000 cubic yards of dredge material from the Pier 6 area.

  • A total of 190 Disaster Medical Assistance Team (DMAT) personnel operating at various locations throughout the city have treated a total of 5,574 patients to date, most of them police, fire department and construction workers. Veterinary Medical Assistance Team personnel have provided a total of 879 treatments to the search and rescue dogs.

  • Due to the far-reaching effect of the disaster, ten New York counties have been made eligible for federal assistance by a Sept. 27 amendment to the presidential disaster declaration of Sept. 11. The added counties are: Delaware, Dutchess, Nassau, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk, Sullivan, Ulster and Westchester. The amendment brings the total to 15 counties now eligible for various types of individual disaster assistance.

  • Twenty-four Community Relations teams are outreaching to disaster victims, community organizations and local officials in New York County (Manhattan) with concentrated effort on affected neighborhoods of south Manhattan including Battery Park City, Chinatown, the Lower East Side, Greenwich Village and Soho. Informational materials are being distributed in several different languages.

  • 132 different agencies and organizations are participating in response and recovery effort at present, FEMA's Voluntary Agency Liaison reports.

  • At close of business on Sept. 30, a total of 12,385 persons impacted by the WTC attack had registered for assistance by calling FEMA's toll-free teleregistration number, 1-800-462-9029 (TTY 800-462-7585). The FEMA Helpline had received 7,163 calls. Assistance is also available through the U.S. Department of Justice's Office for Victims of Crime. Those affected by the World Trade Center catastrophe may also call 1-800-247-8035 (TTY 1-888-289-9747).
Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top