Ten Additional New York Counties Now Eligible to Receive Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
September 28, 2001
Release Number: 

New York, NY -- Disaster assistance for Delaware, Dutchess, Nassau, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk, Sullivan, Ulster and Westchester counties has been made available to help homeowners, renters and businesses recover from the effects of the World Trade Center attack, the head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today.

FEMA Director Joe M. Allbaugh said the assistance was approved based on a determination of widespread adverse affects of the catastrophe on residents in the ten added counties. This amendment to the major disaster declaration signed by President Bush on September 11 brings to 15 the total of New York counties (including the five boroughs New York City) now eligible for individual assistance from the federal government.

"We are committed to working in partnership with the City of New York and New York State to deliver assistance wherever its needed and to make sure that every qualified individual and family receives the help necessary to get back on the road to recovery after this terrible event," Allbaugh said.

Affected residents and business owners in the 15 designated counties may apply for assistance by calling the FEMA toll-free registration number, 1-800-462-9029, between 8 a.m. and 8 p.m., seven days a week. Those with a speech- or hearing-impairment may call TTY 1-800-462-7585. Registration operators also are able to provide information on and referrals to the many programs and services now available to disaster victims through the New York State Crime Victims Board, 1-800-247-8035 (TTY 1-888-289-9747), and other local and volunteer agencies. Translation services are available to accommodate the needs of all language groups.

The wide range of state and federal disaster assistance programs now available to New Yorkers affected by the WTC attack includes: funding for temporary housing; U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low-interest loans for individuals and businesses to repair or replace damaged property; disaster unemployment assistance; crisis counseling; and grants to meet serious needs and necessary expenses not met by other programs.

New York counties now included in the federal disaster declaration are: Bronx, Delaware, Dutchess, Kings (Brooklyn), Nassau, New York (Manhattan), Orange, Putnam, Queens, Richmond (Staten Island), Rockland, Suffolk, Sullivan, Ulster and Westchester.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top