Main Content

Deadlines Apply To Disaster Public Assistance Funding

Main Content
Release date: 
September 15, 2001
Release Number: 

Langley, KY -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today reminded officials in the 20 Kentucky counties eligible for disaster funds to repair or replace flood damaged public property to be mindful of approaching deadlines.

Federal Coordinating Officer (FCO) Michael Bolch said local governments have 30 days to request public assistance (RPA). RPAs are followed by project worksheets (PWs) describing the need for federal and state funding.

The deadlines for submitting requests differ based on the date the respective counties were declared eligible following damage assessments jointly conducted by federal and state public assistance personnel.

The deadlines for Floyd, Perry and Pike counties is Tuesday, September 18; Knott and Letcher counties, Monday, September 24; Lawrence County, September 25; Bath, Clay, Elliott, Estill, Harrison, Lewis, Livingston, Mason, Menifee, Powell, and Rowan counties, September 27; Livingston, Rockcastle, and Whitley counties, September 28.

All 20 counties have qualified for public property and infrastructure repair assistance since the disaster declaration, August 15.

Bolch said it is understood that some applicants may need help in completing project worksheets due to limited or inexperienced staffing.

"In all cases," he said, "we will work with the applicant."

"The sooner paperwork is completed," he added, "the sooner money to restore infrastructure is in the pipeline. Safe and sound roadways and other publicly owned properties are crucial elements of a healthy economy."

Funded applicants have 18 months after the disaster declaration (August 15) to complete permanent construction work.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: