Main Content

Disaster Unemployment Assistance Application Deadline Nears

Main Content
Release date: 
August 24, 2001
Release Number: 

Tazewell, VA -- Tuesday, September 4, is the deadline for residents of Buchanan, Dickenson, Russell, Scott, Smyth and Wise counties to apply for disaster unemployment assistance as a result of severe storms and flooding that occurred across the Commonwealth on July 8, 2001 and thereafter. Disaster unemployment assistance deadlines are set according to when a designated jurisdiction was declared eligible for disaster assistance.

Individuals living and/or working in these jurisdictions whose unemployment is a direct result of the disaster have until Tuesday, September 4, 2001 to apply for assistance. Residents of Lee County whose unemployment is a direct result of flooding that occurred on July 28 and thereafter have a filing deadline of September 13, 2001.

Self-employed and unemployed workers who are not covered by the regular state unemployment insurance programs may apply for this federally-funded assistance made available by the major disaster declaration by President Bush on July 12. Under this program, benefits of up to $268 per week may be paid to eligible individuals.

Disaster unemployment assistance covers those who:

  1. Are unable to work because their place of employment was put out of operation or they were unable to travel to their workplace due to the effects of the flood damage;
  2. Are self-employed but are prevented from working due to the effects of the flood damage;
  3. Have become the breadwinner or major support of a household because the head of the household died as a direct result of the disaster; or
  4. Cannot work because of an injury caused as a direct result of the disaster.

When filing for disaster unemployment assistance applicants should bring their Social Security number and, if possible, documentation showing earnings for the calendar year of 2000, to the nearest Virginia Employment Commission (VEC) field office.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: