Additional 12 Counties Designated For Public Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
August 22, 2001
Release Number: 

Langley, KY -- Disaster assistance for 12 additional counties has been expanded to include aid for local governments affected by the recent severe storms and flooding, the head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today.

FEMA Director Joe M. Allbaugh said the additional assistance was approved following a review of damage data gathered by federal and state disaster recovery officials. The additional counties are Bath, Clay, Elliott, Estill, Harrison, Lawrence, Lewis, Livingston, Mason, Menifee, Powell and Rowan.

Under the original declaration issued by President Bush on August 15, five counties were designated for assistance: Floyd, Knott, Letcher, Perry and Pike.

Allbaugh said, "Our continuing commitment is to ensure that vital community services are restored as quickly and efficiently as possible."

Under the expanded assistance, Allbaugh said affected local governments in the 17 counties are eligible to apply for federal funds to pay 75 percent of the approved cost for debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads, buildings and utilities.

Procedures for requesting the assistance will be explained at a series of applicant briefings at locations to be announced shortly by state and federal disaster officials.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top