Main Content

Federal Disaster Funds Ordered For Kentucky To Help Rebuild Storm-Damaged Public Property

Main Content
Release date: 
August 15, 2001
Release Number: 

Washington, DC -- The head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today designated five Kentucky counties eligible for federal disaster funds to help local governments rebuild public facilities damaged by a series of severe storms and flooding that hit the state beginning July 27.

FEMA Director Joe M. Allbaugh said the assistance was authorized under a major disaster declaration issued by President Bush following a review of the agency's analysis of the state's request for federal relief.

Under the declaration, Allbaugh said federal funds will be provided for the state and affected local governments to pay 75 percent of the eligible cost for debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads, buildings and utilities. The declaration also makes cost-shared funding available to the state for approved projects that reduce future disaster risks.

The five counties designated for the assistance by Allbaugh following the declaration include Floyd, Knott, Letcher, Perry and Pike.

Allbaugh indicated that more counties and additional forms of assistance may be designated later based on the results of further damage assessments. He named Michael E. Bolch of FEMA to coordinate the federal relief effort.

Bolch said procedures for requesting assistance will be explained at a series of applicant briefings at locations to be announced shortly in the affected areas.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top