Deadline Extended to Apply for Flood Recovery Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
July 30, 2001
Release Number: 

Charleston, WV -- West Virginia residents who have suffered losses in the floods and mudslides dating back to May have more time to apply for federal/state disaster recovery assistance.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today advised state officials that it had granted the state request to extend the registration period from Aug. 2 to Sept.8.

"In the week prior to this request, we had more than 2000 applications," said Stephen S. Kappa, director of the West Virginia Office of Emergency Services. "It was clear we needed to keep the registration period open if we were going to reach all of the people who need help."

Carlos Mitchell, the FEMA official coordinating disaster assistance, granted the extension request. "We hope this extra time will assure that everyone who suffered losses in the series of floods and mudslides will get the federal and state assistance they need to rebuild their lives," Mitchell said.

The registration number is 1-800-462-9029. Those with speech or hearing impairments should call TTY 1-800-462-7585. The lines are open 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., seven days a week.

Anyone who suffered damages in the 22 counties included in the President's disaster declaration is eligible for assistance.

Those counties are:

Boone, Cabell, Calhoun, Clay, Doddridge, Fayette, Kanawha, Lincoln, Logan, Marion, Mason, McDowell, Mercer, Mingo, Preston, Putnam, Raleigh, Roane, Summers, Taylor, Wayne and Wyoming.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top