Two Counties Added To Disaster Declaration

Main Content
Release date: 
July 17, 2001
Release Number: 

Charleston, WV -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has announced the addition of Marion and Taylor counties to the twenty already declared as disaster areas in storm- and flood-ravaged West Virginia.

FEMA Director Joe M. Allbaugh approved the request for individual and public assistance for Taylor County and individual assistance only for Marion. The approval was based on a review of the latest damage data provided by state and federal disaster recovery officials.

"We don't want anyone to be left by the roadside on the route to recovery," Allbaugh said. "It is the mission of FEMA and its state partners to expedite assistance to every qualified individual and family who suffered losses or damages in these recent disasters."

Residents and business owners in Taylor and Marion counties who incurred losses in the spring and summer floods and storms may apply for assistance immediately by calling FEMA's toll-free registration number, 1-800-462-9029 between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. seven days a week. Individuals with speech or hearing impairments may call the TTY number at 1-800-462-7585.

Also Taylor County governmental units and certain non-profit organizations may apply for assistance to repair damaged or destroyed infrastructure.

Twenty-two West Virginia counties have now been declared disaster areas, enabling residents to qualify for disaster help. They are Boone, Cabell, Calhoun, Clay, Doddridge, Fayette, Kanawha, Lincoln, Logan, Marion, Mason, McDowell, Mercer, Mingo, Preston, Putnam, Raleigh, Roane, Summers, Taylor, Wayne and Wyoming.

Flood victims who previously registered during the earlier part of the declaration and who have suffered further damages should call the FEMA Helpline at 1-800-525-0321 and amend and update their applications.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top