Main Content

Six Additional North Dakota Counties To Receive Disaster Aid

Main Content
Release date: 
July 10, 2001
Release Number: 

Bismark, ND -- Federal disaster funds have been made available for six North Dakota counties to help local governments rebuild public property damaged by the recent storms and high groundwater problems in North Dakota, the head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today. The counties are Burleigh, LaMoure, Logan, Mountrail, Morton, and Sargent.

FEMA Director Joe M. Allbaugh said the assistance was approved following a review of damage data gathered by federal and state disaster recovery officials.

"Ensuring that vital community services are restored as quickly as possible is part of our continuing commitment to help North Dakota achieve a full and lasting recovery," Allbaugh said.

Affected local governments in the counties are eligible to apply for federal funds to pay 75 percent of the approved cost for debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads, buildings and utilities.

"The quick response and news of the approval for these six counties to be added-on to the current disaster declaration is great news," said North Dakota Governor John Hoeven. "These counties can begin the process of restoring their public infrastructure damaged by the recent storms and spring flooding."

The funds were authorized under the major disaster declaration issued by President Bush on May 28 and made available through FEMA's Public Assistance program for state and local governments. The original disaster declaration provided assistance to 27 North Dakota counties and two Indian reservations.

Local governments in all of the declared counties and reservations may be eligible for assistance for damages sustained between March 1 and July 3, 2001.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: