Main Content

Six More Wisconsin Counties Designated for Public Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
July 5, 2001
Release Number: 

West Salem, WI -- Federal disaster funds have been made available for six additional Wisconsin counties to help local governments rebuild public property damaged by the recent severe storms, the head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today.

The counties are Adams, Chippewa, Dunn, Jackson, Juneau and Taylor, bringing the number of eligible Wisconsin counties to 31.

FEMA Director Joe M. Allbaugh said the assistance was approved following a review of damage data gathered by federal and state disaster recovery officials.

"Ensuring that vital community services are restored as quickly as possible is part of our continuing commitment to help Wisconsin achieve a full and lasting recovery," Allbaugh said.

Affected local governments in the six counties are eligible to apply for federal funds to pay 75 percent of the approved cost for debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads, buildings and utilities.

The funds were authorized under the major disaster declaration issued by President Bush on May 11 and made available through FEMA's public assistance program for state and local governments.

Procedures for requesting the assistance will be explained at a series of applicant briefings to be conducted by state and federal disaster officials at locations to be announced.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: