Wisconsin Residents Receiving Disaster Aid

Main Content
Release date: 
June 26, 2001
Release Number: 

West Salem, WI -- More than a thousand Wisconsin residents have sought federal disaster assistance to help recover from flooding, tornado and severe storms that have hit the state since April.

Officials with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and Wisconsin Emergency Management (WEM) say that number will increase as people who suffered recent storm damage seek help.

As of Tuesday, 1,161 people have called FEMA's teleregistration number since President Bush's original disaster declaration May 11. FEMA has approved $717,317 in Disaster Housing Assistance and the U.S. Small Business Administration has processed $2.5 million in low--interest loans.

Since last Thursday, when disaster assistance was expanded to include damage from the June 18 tornado, 117 Burnett County and 41 Washburn County residents have requested federal assistance.

In addition, 76 Winnebago County and 42 Outagamie County residents have registered with FEMA for assistance for damage they sustained during the June 11 severe storms.

In all, 25 Wisconsin counties are eligible for federal disaster assistance. Fifteen of those counties are approved for assistance for individuals and businesses that suffered damage as a result of storms, tornado or flooding.

People who have suffered losses or damage as a result of the severe weather should register for disaster assistance as soon as possible. FEMA's toll--free registration line is 1--800--462--9029. Those with hearing or speech impairments may call TTY 1--800--462--7585 to register.

If you have already registered because of earlier damage and have additional damage or questions, contact the FEMA toll--free Helpline at 1--800--525--0321.

Meanwhile, FEMA and WEM are opening Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) in Siren and Neenah tomorrow (Wednesday), June 27. People who sustained damage should go to the DRCs to get information on federal and state assistance, local recovery programs and volunteer aid.

The DRCs are located at: Siren High School, 24022 Fourth Avenue, Siren (10 a.m. to 8 p.m. Monday--Saturday until further notice) and Neenah Police Department Community Room, 2111 Marathon Avenue, Neenah (10 a.m. to 8 p.m. Wednesday, June 27--Friday, June 29.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top