SBA Paves The Way To Disaster Aid

Main Content
Release date: 
June 22, 2001
Release Number: 

Charleston, WV -- Disaster assistance for Calhoun and Putnam counties has been approved to help homeowners, renters and businesses recover from the effects of the recent storms, landslides and flooding, the head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today. This brings to 18 the number of West Virginia counties that have been designated for help.

FEMA Director Joe M. Allbaugh said the assistance was approved based on a review of damage data gathered by federal and state disaster recovery officials. The counties were added for aid under the major disaster declaration issued by President Bush on June 3.

"We remain committed to delivering assistance wherever it's needed and to making sure that every qualified individual and family receives the help they need to get on the road to recovery," Allbaugh said.

Affected residents and business owners in Calhoun and Putnam counties may apply for assistance immediately by calling the toll-free registration number, 1-800-462-9029, between 8 a.m. and 6 p.m., Monday through Saturday. Those with a speech or hearing impairment may call the TTY number at 1-800-462-7585.

Allbaugh said calling these phone numbers are the only way to apply for a wide range of state and federal disaster assistance programs such as temporary housing; U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low-interest loans for individuals and businesses to repair or replace damaged property; disaster unemployment assistance; and grants for serious needs and necessary expenses not met by other programs.

Callers are advised to have the following information available to help speed up the application process:

  • Your current phone number.
  • Your address at the time of the disaster and the address where you are now staying.
  • Your Social Security number, if available.
  • A general list of damages and losses you suffered.
  • Good directions to the property that was damaged.
  • If insured, your insurance policy number, or the agent's and company name.
  • General financial information.

Renters, homeowners and businesses in Putnam, Calhoun, as well as Boone, Cabell, Clay, Kanawha, Lincoln, Logan, Mason, McDowell, Mercer, Mingo, Preston, Raleigh, Roane, Summers, Wayne, Wyoming counties are eligible for individual assistance if they have suffered losses in the current disaster. The application deadline is August 2.


When disaster strikes, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) administers disaster assistance programs and coordinates the efforts of many other federal agencies that provide services to help people through the recovery process. The types of assistance that are available follow.

Federal Emergency Management Agency Programs

DISASTER HOUSING ASSISTANCE: Housing assistance to individuals and families whose permanent homes were damaged or destroyed by the storm. Types of aid include grants for: alternate rental housing; emergency repairs needed to make a residence habitable; and mortgage or rental assistance in cases where the disaster has caused extreme economic hardship.

INDIVIDUAL AND FAMILY GRANT PROGRAM: Grants to individuals and families to meet serious disaster-related needs and necessary expenses not covered by insurance or other federal, state or voluntary agency disaster assistance programs.

DISASTER UNEMPLOYMENT ASSISTANCE: Weekly benefits to individuals out of work due to the disaster, including self-employed persons, farm owners and others not usually covered under regular unemployment insurance.

U.S. Small Business Administration Progr...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top