Three More Florida Counties to Receive Storm Public Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
June 20, 2001
Release Number: 

Tallahassee, FL -- Disaster assistance has been expanded to include aid for three North Florida governments affected by the recent flooding caused by remnants of Tropical Storm Allison in Florida, the head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today.

This brings to nine the number of counties to receive some kind of assistance following the torrential rains of June 11 - 15.

FEMA Director Joe M. Allbaugh said the additional assistance was approved following a review of damage data gathered by federal and state disaster recovery officials. Under the original declaration issued by President Bush on June 17, Jefferson and Wakulla counties were designated for aid to individuals, families and business owners. "Our continuing commitment is not only to help meet the recovery needs of devastated families and businesses," Allbaugh said, " but to ensure that the vital community services they also depend on are restored as quickly and efficiently as possible."

Under the expanded assistance, Allbaugh said affected local governments in Jefferson, Wakulla and Washington counties are eligible to apply for federal funds to pay 75 percent of the approved cost for debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads, buildings and utilities.

Federal Coordinating Officer Mike Butler said that procedures for requesting the assistance will be explained at a series of applicant briefings at locations to be announced shortly by state and federal disaster officials. "This is a great example of coordination between local, state and federal governments responding to a disaster," said State Coordinating Officer Craig Fugate.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top