Nine Counties Designated for Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
June 11, 2001
Release Number: 

Charleston, WV -- Disaster assistance has been made available for nine additional counties to help residents and local governments recover from the recent severe storms, flooding and landslides that started May 15 in West Virginia, the head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today.

FEMA Director Joe M. Allbaugh said Cabell, Clay, Lincoln, Mason, McDowell, Mingo, Roane, Summers and Wayne counties were added to the list of eligible jurisdictions based on a review of damage data gathered by federal and state disaster recovery officials. McDowell County was also approved for Public Assistance.

"We remain committed to ensuring that every qualified family and business receives the help they need and that vital community facilities are restored to full service as quickly as possible," Allbaugh said.

Allbaugh said that stricken residents and business owners in the newly added counties are eligible to apply for a wide range of state and federal disaster assistance programs under the major disaster declaration issued by President Bush on June 3. The aid can include funding for temporary housing, U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low-interest loans for individuals and businesses to repair or replace damaged property, disaster unemployment assistance, and grants for serious needs and necessary expenses not met by other programs.

Affected residents and business owners may apply for assistance immediately by calling the toll-free registration number, 1-800-462-9029, between 8 a.m. and 6 p.m., Monday through Saturday. Those with a speech or hearing impairment may call a special TTY number at 800-462-7585. Counties previously approved for Individual Assistance are Boone, Kanawha, Logan, Mercer, Raleigh, and Wyoming. The counties of Boone, Clay, Lincoln, Logan, Mercer, Raleigh, Wayne, and Wyoming were previously approved for Public Assistance.

Callers are advised to have the following information available to help speed up the application process:

  • Your current phone number.
  • Your address at the time of the disaster and the address where you are now staying
  • Your Social Security number, if available.
  • A general list of damages and losses you suffered.
  • Good directions to the property that was damaged.
  • If insured, your insurance policy number, or the agent's and company name.
  • General financial information.


When disaster strikes, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) administers a number of disaster assistance programs and coordinates the efforts of many other federal agencies that provide services to help people through the recovery process. The types of assistance that are available follow.

Federal Emergency Management Agency Programs

DISASTER HOUSING ASSISTANCE: Housing assistance to individuals and families whose permanent homes were damaged or destroyed by the storm. Types of aid include grants for: alternate rental housing; emergency repairs needed to make a residence habitable; and mortgage or rental assistance in cases where the disaster has caused extreme economic hardship.

INDIVIDUAL AND FAMILY GRANT PROGRAM: Grants to individuals and families to meet serious disaster-related needs and necessary expenses not covered by insurance or other federal, state or voluntary agency disaster assistance programs.

DISASTER UNEMPLOYMENT ASSISTANCE: Weekly benefits to individuals out of work due to the disaster, including self-employed persons, farm owners and others not usually covered u...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top