Almost One And A Half Million In Assistance Approved For Minnesota Disaster Victims

Main Content
Release date: 
June 7, 2001
Release Number: 

St. Paul, MN -- In the three weeks since President Bush declared a major disaster in Minnesota, more than $1.35 million has been approved for disaster assistance throughout the 37 counties declared for Individual Assistance.

According to figures released by the Minnesota Division of Emergency Management (DEM) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), at the close of business on June 6, the following numbers of people have applied for or received assistance:

  • 1,390 Applications have been received
  • 877 Verification visits made to establish the applicant's eligibility and damage loss
  • 1,016 Applications referred for Disaster Housing Assistance
  • 640 Disaster housing grants approved, totaling $892,617
  • 799 SBA applications issued to homeowners/renters
  • 206 SBA applications issued to business owners
  • 18 SBA low--interest loans approved, totaling $464,200

(See a county breakdown of disaster applications and housing grant approvals attached.)

Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) is available through the nearest Minnesota Department of Economic Security (DES) office for those who lost income because of the disaster, including farmers, farm workers, migrant farm workers, and other self--employed individuals. The deadline for filing an application with DES for those affected in the original 11 counties designated for Individual Assistance is June 21. For those located in the 26 additional counties added on May 29, the deadline for filing an application is June 29. An application for DUA and more information about the program can be found on the DES website:, or call 1--888--438--5627 for more information.

Voluntary agencies and faith groups are sponsoring a toll--free Helpline (1 800 987--0061) for those affected by this spring's severe winter storms, flooding and tornadoes if they have disaster--related needs unmet by FEMA. The phone staff will provide information, referrals, and advocacy for additional recovery resources in the caller's area.

SBA Continues Informational Workshops

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) workshop in Stevens County will move to a new location at 603 Oregon Avenue in Morris on Monday, June 11. The SBA will continue to staff workshops in nine locations across Minnesota for applicants to get answers to their questions about the disaster loan program and help in completing their SBA applications. Hours are 10 a.m. to 7 p.m., Monday through Friday, unless otherwise noted.


SBA Informational Workshops
Benton County581 Hwy 23 NE, Foley
Goodhue County885 East 7th St, Red Wing
Washington County1520 S. St. Croix Trail, Lakeland
Chippewa County629 North 11th St., Montevideo
Hours are 8 a.m. -- 4:30 p.m.
Winona CountyEast 4th and LaFayette, Winona
Hours are 8 a.m. -- 5:00 p.m.
Stevens County722 Iowa Ave., Morris
through June 8
603 Oregon Ave., Morris
beginning on June 11
Freeborn County221 West Main Street; Glenville
St. Louis County520 West Superior, Duluth
Friday hours: 10 a.m. -- 5:30 p.m.
Clay County


Last Updated: 
February 7, 2013 - 18:06
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top