Recovery Summary: Nearly 1200 Minnesota Victims Apply for Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
June 4, 2001
Release Number: 

St. Paul, MN -- Almost 1200 Minnesotans from 37 counties across the state have called to apply for disaster assistance, and nearly three quarters of a million dollars in grants and low--interest loans have been approved for victims of severe winter storms, tornadoes and flooding.

The Minnesota Division of Emergency Management (DEM), the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and voluntary agencies are working in partnership to help Minnesota residents in the recovery process. Thirty--seven counties have been designated eligible for Individual Assistance as a result of the presidential declaration issued May 16th. The following is an update of recovery activities to date:

  • 1197 Applications have been received
  • 633 Verification visits made to establish the applicant's eligibility and damage loss
  • 874 Applications referred for Disaster Housing Assistance
  • 382 Disaster housing grants approved, totaling $497,277
  • 10 SBA low--interest loans approved, totaling $227,600
  • 333 People who visited one of the nine Disaster Recovery Centers

The U.S. Small Business Administration has issued 609 loan applications to homeowners/renters and 157 to business owners. Officials urge applicants to complete their loan paperwork as soon as possible, even if they have not received a final settlement from their insurance company. If the loan application is not returned it will delay other forms of disaster assistance.

SBA Opens Workshops

The SBA will open a workshop in Moorhead for Clay County applicants to get answers to their questions about the disaster loan program and help in completing their SBA applications. It will be open Tuesday, June 5th through Saturday June 9th, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Thereafter, the workshop will be open Monday through Friday, as will the eight other SBA workshops located in Minnesota, as listed below. A FEMA representative will also be at these locations for a limited time to answer applicants' questions about disaster assistance and information on how to reduce future disaster damages. Hours are 10 a.m. to 7 p.m., Monday through Friday, unless otherwise noted.

SBA Open Workshops
Benton County581 Hwy 23 NE, Foley 
Goodhue County885 East 7th St, Red Wing 
Washington County1520 S. St. Croix Trail, Lakeland 
Chippewa County629 North 11th St., MontevideoHours are 8 a.m. -- 4:30 p.m.
Winona CountyEast 4th and LaFayette, WinonaHours are 8 a.m. -- 5:00 p.m.
Stevens County722 Iowa Ave., Morris 
Freeborn County221 West Main Street; Glenville 
St. Louis County520 West Superior, DuluthFriday hours: 10 a.m. -- 5:30 p.m.
Clay County501 Main Street, MoorheadOpening June 5, 9 a.m. -- 6 p.m.

Just One Call Starts the Application Process

The application process is easy, eff...

Last Updated: 
February 7, 2013 - 17:50
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top