Main Content

President Orders Disaster Aid For West Virginia

Main Content
Release date: 
June 4, 2001
Release Number: 

Washington, DC -- Federal disaster aid has been made available for West Virginia to help families and businesses recover from the effects of the severe storms and floods that began last month, according to the head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

FEMA Director Joe M. Allbaugh said the assistance was authorized under a major disaster declaration issued for the state by President Bush. The declaration covers damage to private and public property from severe storms, flooding and landslides starting May 15.

Following the President's action, Allbaugh designated six counties eligible for aid to stricken residents and business owners. The counties include Boone, Kanawha, Logan, Mercer, Raleigh and Wyoming.

The assistance, to be coordinated by FEMA, can include grants to help pay for temporary housing, emergency home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses. Low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration also will be available to cover residential and business losses not fully compensated by insurance.

Additionally, Allbaugh said federal funds will be provided for the state and affected local governments in Boone, Clay, Lincoln, Logan, Mercer, Raleigh, Wayne and Wyoming counties to pay 75 percent of the eligible costs to repair or replace disaster-damaged public facilities, such as roads, buildings and utilities. The declaration also makes cost-shared funding available to the state for approved projects that reduce future disaster risks.

Allbaugh indicated that additional counties may be designated for aid later if requested and warranted by the results of further damage assessments. He named Charles M. Butler of FEMA to coordinate the federal relief effort.

Butler said those who sustained losses in the counties designated for aid to affected residents and business owners can begin the disaster application process by calling 1-800-462-9029, or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired. The toll-free telephone numbers will be available starting Tuesday, June 5, from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Saturday until further notice.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: