Washburn County Declared For Individual Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
May 31, 2001
Release Number: 

Washington, DC -- Disaster assistance for Washburn County has been expanded to include individual assistance for homeowners, renters and businesses affected by the recent storms and flooding in Wisconsin, FEMA Director Joe M. Allbaugh announced today.

"Washburn was added for individual assistance when we learned that individuals, families and businesses had suffered losses because of the flooding," Allbaugh said. Under the original declaration issued by President Bush on May 11, the county was declared for public assistance.

Those affected in Washburn County may apply for assistance immediately by calling the toll-free registration number, 1-800-462-9029, between 8 a.m. and 6 p.m., Monday through Saturday, until further notice. Those with a speech or hearing impairment may call a special TTY number at 1-800-462-7585.

These numbers can be used to apply for a wide range of state and federal disaster assistance programs such as funding for disaster housing assistance, U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low-interest loans for individuals and businesses to repair or replace damaged property, disaster unemployment assistance, and grants for serious needs and necessary expenses not met by other programs.

"Your phone call is your application for state and federal assistance available under the disaster declaration," said Allbaugh. When calling to apply, have the followi ng information available to cut down on application processing time:

  • Your current phone number.
  • Your address at the time of the disaster and the address where you are now staying
  • Your Social Security number, if available.
  • A general list of damages and losses you suffered.
  • Good directions to the property that was damaged.
  • If insured, your insurance policy number, or the agent's and company name.
  • General financial information.

Disaster Assistance Program Information

When disaster strikes, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) administers a number of disaster assistance programs and coordinates the efforts of many other federal agencies that provide services to help people through the recovery process.

The types of assistance that are available follow.

Federal Emergency Management Agency Programs

DISASTER HOUSING ASSISTANCE: Housing assistance to individuals and families whose permanent homes were damaged or destroyed by the storm. Types of aid include grants for: alternate rental housing; emergency repairs needed to make a residence habitable; and mortgage or rental assistance in cases where the disaster has caused extreme economic hardship.

INDIVIDUAL AND FAMILY GRANT PROGRAM: Grants to individuals and families to meet serious disaster-related needs and necessary expenses not covered by insurance or other federal, state or voluntary agency disaster assistance programs.

DISASTER UNEMPLOYMENT ASSISTANCE: Weekly benefits to individuals out of work due to the disaster, including self-employed persons, farm owners and others not usually covered under regular unemployment insurance.

U.S. Small Business Administration Programs

HOME/PERSONAL PROPERTY DISASTER LOANS: Disaster loans to homeowners and renters for restoring or replacing underinsured or uninsured disaster-damaged real and personal property. (Available in declared counties.)

BUSINESS DISASTER LOANS: Disaster loans to repair or replace destroyed or damaged business facilities, inventory, machinery, equipment, etc. not covered by insurance. (Available to large and small businesses in declared counties...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top