Half A Million Dollars In Disaster Assistance Approved For Minnesotans

Main Content
Release date: 
May 31, 2001
Release Number: 

St. Paul, MN -- In just two weeks since President Bush issued a major disaster declaration on May 16, nearly half a million dollars has been allocated for disaster assistance. More than $450, 000 has been approved for disaster housing grants and low--interest loans for more than a quarter of the 905 people who have already applied for disaster assistance.

According to figures released by the Minnesota Division of Emergency Management (DEM) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), at the close of business on May 30, the following numbers of people have applied for or received assistance. This may be just the initial assistance people may be eligible for.

  • 905 Applications have been received
  • 331 Verification visits made to establish the applicant's eligibility and damage loss
  • 664 Applications referred for Disaster Housing Assistance
  • 234 Disaster housing grants approved, totaling $282,467
  • 8 SBA low--interest loans approved, totaling $167,900
  • 119 People who visited one of the nine Disaster Recovery Centers

Note: See county breakdown of disaster housing grants attached to this press release.

  • Residents and business owners in 37 Minnesota counties, who sustained damage or losses beginning March 23 until May 29, can begin the disaster application process by calling 1--800--462--9029 or 1--800--462--7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired. Phone lines will be available from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Saturday. The jurisdictions eligible for Individual Assistance include the counties of: Aitkin, Benton, Big Stone, Carlton, Chippewa, Clay, Dakota, Freeborn, Goodhue, Houston, Kanabec, Lac qui Parle, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Mower, Norman, Olmsted, Otter Tail, Pine, Polk, Ramsey, Redwood, Renville, Rice, St. Louis, Sibley, Stearns, Stevens, Swift, Todd, Traverse, Wabasha, Washington, Wilkin, Winona, Wright, and Yellow Medicine, and the Tribal governments of Prairie Island and Upper Sioux.
  • Temporary Disaster Recovery Centers opened in nine locations across the state to serve those affected by the severe winter storms, tornadoes and flooding. During the past week, 119 people stopped at the Recovery Centers to talk face--to--face with state and federal recovery specialists about disaster assistance and receive technical assistance about how they can reduce future disaster damage to their homes and property.
  • U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) workshops will be open in the following locations to continue to answer questions about the disaster loan program and help people complete their SBA applications. A FEMA representative will also be at these locations for a limited time to answer applicants' questions about disaster assistance. All locations will be open Monday through Friday, 10 a.m. to 7 p.m., as of today -- unless noted below.

    SBA Workshops
    Benton County581 Hwy 23 NE, FoleyAlso open Saturday, June 2
    Goodhue County885 East 7th St, Red WingAlso open Saturday, June 2
    Washington County1520 S. St. Croix Trail, LakelandOpens Saturday, June 2
    Chippewa County629 North 11th St., MontevideoHours are 8 a.m...


Last Updated: 
February 7, 2013 - 18:42
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top