Douglas County Disaster Recovery Center To Open Saturday

Main Content
Release date: 
May 29, 2001
Release Number: 

La Crosse, WI -- Emergency officials will open a disaster--recovery center in Douglas County to serve victims of the recent floods and severe storms on Saturday, June 2, officials announced today.

Representatives of the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA), Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), Wisconsin Emergency Management and other state and federal agencies will staff the centers, said Tom Davies, of FEMA. The agency representatives will answer questions about available disaster assistance.

Although this center is located in Wisconsin, flood victims from nearby Minnesota communities are also welcome to visit. The center will be located on the second floor of the Lake Nebagoman Town Hall, 11596 E. Waterfront, Lake Nebagoman from 10 a.m. to 7 p.m. The center will be open for one day only.

The center's staff is trained to provide information on FEMA assistance, SBA loans, taxes, individual and family grants and counseling. The staff will also offer advice on cost--effective ways to prevent or limit future flood damage.

Before visiting the centers, flood or storm victims should register for disaster assistance by calling the FEMA toll--free registration number. The number is 1-800-462-9029 or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the speech and hearing impaired. The lines are open 8 a.m. through 6 p.m., Monday through Saturday.

Anyone who has already registered may visit a center for more information. Applicants also may call 1-800-525-0321 to check the status of their applications or to get complete information about available assistance. Those with speech or hearing impairments may call TTY 1-800-462-7585.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top