Main Content

More Disaster Recovery Centers To Open In Wisconsin

Main Content
Release date: 
May 26, 2001
Release Number: 

La Crosse, WI -- Emergency officials will open disaster--recovery centers in Crawford and Pierce Counties to serve victims of the recent floods and severe storms, officials announced today. Centers previously opened in Grant and La Crosse counties.

Representatives of the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA), Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), Wisconsin Emergency Management and other state and federal agencies will staff the centers, said Tom Davies, of FEMA. The agency representatives will answer questions about available disaster assistance.

Although these centers are located in Wisconsin, flood victims from nearby Illinois, Iowa and Minnesota communities are also welcome to visit. The centers will be located at:

Crawford County
Bridgeport Rural Fire Department
33892 State Highway 35 North
Prairie du Chien
Tuesday, May 29 -- Thursday, May 31
10 a.m. --7 p.m.

Pierce County
American Legion
139 S. Oak St.
Tuesday, May 29 -- Thursday, May 31
10 a.m. --7 p.m.

The centers' staff is trained to provide information on FEMA assistance, SBA loans, taxes, individual and family grants and counseling. The staff will also offer advice on cost--effective ways to prevent or limit future flood damage.

Before visiting the centers, flood or storm victims should register for disaster assistance by calling the FEMA toll--free registration number. The number is 1--800--462--9029 or TTY 1--800--462--7585 for the speech and hearing impaired. The lines are open 8 a.m. through 6 p.m., Monday through Saturday. The telephone lines will be closed this Monday for Memorial Day.

Anyone who has already registered may visit a center for more information. Applicants also may call 1--800--525--0321 to check the status of their applications or to get complete information about available assistance. Those with speech or hearing impairments may call TTY 1--800--462--7585.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: