Public Assistance Approved For Five More Counties

Main Content
Release date: 
May 25, 2001
Release Number: 

Davenport, IA -- Disaster recovery officials announced that Allamakee, Clayton, Clinton, Dubuque, and Jackson counties are now eligible to apply for state and federal disaster assistance under the Public Assistance Program. Assistance is available for the counties and the city governments who sustained additional cost due to damage by severe storms, tornadoes, and flooding.

Michael Bolch, federal coordinating officer for the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), said this latest disaster designation means that governmental entities in these counties can apply for help with eligible costs associated with debris removal, emergency protective measures, and restoring essential public facilities damaged by the storms.

Iowa State Coordinating Officer, Steve Zimmerman, added that the first step toward providing assistance would be an applicant's briefing for local officials and certain non-profit organizations. The Iowa Emergency Management Division (IEMD) will conduct these briefings. The dates and times will be announced when the schedule has been finalized.

According to FEMA officials, 75% of the costs of eligible approved projects will be reimbursed by federal funds. The State of Iowa and the applicant will share the remaining 25%.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top