Two Disaster Recovery Centers To Open In Wisconsin

Main Content
Release date: 
May 22, 2001
Release Number: 

La Crosse, WI -- Emergency officials will open disaster-recovery centers in La Crosse and Grant counties to serve victims of the recent flood, officials announced today. Centers are scheduled to open later in other counties.

Representatives of the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA), Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), Wisconsin Emergency Management and other state and federal agencies will man the centers, said Tom Davies, of FEMA. The agency representatives will answer questions about available disaster assistance.

Although these centers are located in Wisconsin, flood victims from nearby Illinois, Iowa and Minnesota communities are also welcome to visit. The centers will be open 10 a.m. until 7 p.m. and the locations and the dates are as follows:

La Crosse County - La Crosse
Thursday, May 24 - Saturday, May 26
Old Courthouse Auditorium
400 Fourth St. North

Grant County- Cassville
Thursday, May 24-Saturday, May 26
Cassville Municipal Building
100 W. Amelia St.

The centers' staff is trained to provide information on FEMA assistance, SBA loans, taxes, individual and family grants and counseling. The staff will also offer advice on cost-effective ways to prevent or reduce future flood damage.

Before visiting the centers, flood victims should register for disaster assistance by calling the FEMA toll-free registration number. The number is 1-800-462-9029 or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the speech and hearing impaired. These lines are open 7 days a week, 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Anyone who has already registered may visit a center for more information. Applicants may also call 1-800-525-0321 to check or to get the status of their applications or to get complete information about available assistance. Those with speech or hearing impairment may call TTY 1-800-462-7585.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top