Main Content

Federal Disaster Assistance Extended to Two More Counties

Release date: 
May 22, 2001
Release Number: 

Davenport, IA -- The number of Iowa counties eligible for federal disaster assistance increased to 19 today with the addition of Henry and Sac Counties.

Michael Bolch, federal coordinating officer for the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), said the designation followed a review of additional information regarding damages incurred from the severe storms, tornadoes and floods that have plagued the state since April 8th.

This addition makes federal assistance available to eligible individuals (homeowners, renters, and business owners) in Henry and Sac Counties. It also extends federal assistance to repair or replace eligible disaster-damaged public facilities located in Henry County.

Steve Zimmerman, state coordinating officer for the Iowa Emergency Management Division, said assistance to individuals could include grants to help pay for temporary housing needs, minor home repairs, and other serious disaster-related expenses. Low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration also will be available to cover residential and business losses not fully compensated by insurance.

State and local officials, and representatives from eligible non-profit organizations in the designated counties are eligible to seek reimbursement from FEMA for 75 percent of the approved costs for debris removal, emergency services related to the storm and restoring essential public facilities damaged by the storm. The State of Iowa and the applicant will share the remaining 25 percent.

The Iowa counties now included in the disaster declaration are: Allamakee, Buchanan, Calhoun, Clayton, Clinton, Des Moines, Dubuque, Henry, Humboldt, Jackson, Lee, Louisa, Muscatine, Palo Alto, Ringgold, Sac, Scott, Wapello and Webster.

Anyone who sustained damage from the storms should register with FEMA by calling the toll-free teleregistration number: 1-800-462-9029. TTY service is available at 1-800-462-7585 for anyone who is hearing or speech-impaired. The registration numbers are available from 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., Monday through Friday (Closed Memorial Day, Monday, May 28, 2001). Individuals should register by phone as soon as it is practical. Local governments will be able to apply at upcoming briefings-locations and times to be announced in the coming days.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: