Main Content

Community Relations Teams Visiting Flooded Areas

Release date: 
May 14, 2001
Release Number: 

La Crosse, WI -- Community relations teams consisting of members of the Federal Emergency Management Agency and Wisconsin Emergency Management are meeting with local officials and residents of flood damaged areas to explain the federal disaster assistance programs.

The five teams will be visiting all 11 counties eligible for programs to aid individuals who suffered damage as a result of the severe weather and flooding. The teams are providing information on recovery cleanup, disaster assistance programs, and encouraging residents to call the toll-free application number to register for assistance. Even if residents have registered with the Red Cross, Salvation Army or county emergency management director, they still need to apply for assistance by calling FEMA's toll-free number.

On May 11, President George W. Bush approved federal disaster assistance to help the recovery needs of stricken residents and businesses in Buffalo, Burnett, Crawford, Douglas, Grant, La Crosse, Pepin, Pierce, St. Croix, Trempealeau and Vernon Counties.

The declaration makes residents of these counties eligible to apply for disaster housing assistance, low interest loans, disaster unemployment assistance, and grants for necessary expenses not met by other programs.

The FEMA Toll-Free Application Number is 1-800-462-9029 or those with speech or hearing impaired can call TTY 1-800-462-7585. Residents can call between 8 a.m. and 6 p.m. (CDT) seven days a week until further notice.

When calling to apply for assistance or information, have the following information available:

  • Your current phone number
  • Your address at the time of the disaster and where you are staying now
  • Your Social Security number
  • A general list of damages and losses you suffered
  • Directions to where the property that was damaged
  • If insured, your insurance policy number or agency and company name
  • General financial information
Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: