Federal Disaster Declared For The City Of Hoisington And Barton County, Kansas

Main Content
Release date: 
April 27, 2001
Release Number: 

Kansas City, MO -- President Bush today declared Hoisington and Barton County a federal disaster area.

On April 21, a fast-moving storm system brought heavy rain, severe thunderstorms, and tornadoes to Barton County, devastating areas in and around Hoisington.

Residents and business owners in the City of Hoisington and Barton County who were affected by the severe storms and tornadoes which occurred on April 21, 2001, now are eligible to apply for federal disaster assistance, according to state and federal recovery officials.

Registrations for disaster assistance can begin immediately by calling the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) at 1-800-462-9029. For those who are hearing or speech impaired, the number is 1-800-462-7585. The call is free and recovery specialists can take registrations from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., seven days a week until further notice.

Callers should be prepared to provide the following information: name, social security number, income, insurance coverage, address of the damaged property and a phone number where they currently can be reached.

"We encourage those who have sustained damage to call us and get the process going so we can get help to them as soon as possible," said Art Freeman, acting regional director of FEMA's Region VII office in Kansas City, Missouri.

The assistance programs include: grants for short-term rental needs; grants to make minimal home repairs; low-interest U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) loans to repair major damage and/or replace damaged personal property; grants to meet serious disaster-related needs not covered by other programs, and disaster unemployment assistance.

Freeman added that renters, as well as homeowners, may apply for state and federal help.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top