April Deadline Set to File For Disaster Unemployment Due to the Nisqually Earthquake

Main Content
Release date: 
April 20, 2001
Release Number: 

Olympia, WA -- Residents who live or work in Cowlitz, Island, Jefferson, Pacific, Skagit, Skamania, Wahkiakum andYakima counties and are unemployed as a result of the Nisqually Earthquake have until April 23 to file for Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA), state and Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) officials announced today.

The deadline for residents who live or work in Benton, Clallam, Clark and Whatcom counties and are unemployed as a result of the Nisqually Earthquake is April 25 to file for Disaster Unemployment Assistance.

Individuals who want to file for benefits can apply by calling 1-866-416-7274 to request an application form. Information is also available on the Washington State Employment Security Department (ESD) website: www.wa.gov/esd/ui/dua.htm.

"The Disaster Employment Assistance program extends coverage only to those who would otherwise be ineligible for unemployment compensation under the regular state program," said Diane Offord, State Coordinating Officer.

Federally funded, DUA is administered by ESD. To date, 139 claims have been filed and nearly $46,000 in Disaster Unemployment Assistance has been paid.

Self-employed and other categories of workers may be eligible for this special assistance program, which provides unemployment benefits for those who do not qualify for standard unemployment compensation benefits.

"The DUA program is designed to help people make ends meet until they can get back to work or resume their customary employment," explained Bill Lokey FEMA's federal coordinating officer.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top