Public Assistance Does Not Include Individual Help

Main Content
Release date: 
April 6, 2001
Release Number: 

Little Rock, AR -- Communities in federally declared counties affected by the recent severe storms and flooding may be eligible for assistance with emergency protective measures, debris removal and restoration or replacement of disaster damaged public facilities. Public Assistance refers to the collective public, not to individuals, as in the phrase, "public property."

Eligible applicants are those who are legally responsible for eligible work in the designated disaster area and are one of the following:

  • State or state agency
  • Local government, such as city, county, or town
  • Other state political subdivisions, such as a special district
  • Public entities and rural unincorporated communities provided that an application is submitted on their behalf by a political subdivision of the state

Certain private non-profit organizations may also receive assistance. Eligible private non-profits include educational, utility, emergency, medical, rehabilitation, and temporary or permanent custodial care facilities (including those for the aged and disabled), and other facilities that provide services of a governmental nature to the general public.

Counties included in the Presidential flood declaration are Bradley, Clark, Cleveland, Columbia, Conway, Craighead, Dallas, Drew, Franklin, Hempstead, Hot Spring, Lafayette, Lincoln, Miller, Nevada, Newton, Ouachita, Polk, Prairie, Union and White.


Questions and Answers

Q. What is Public Assistance?
A. Public Assistance is a federal disaster recovery program that provides funds that cover 75 percent of the costs for debris removal, emergency protective measures and the repair, restoration and replacement of public facilities damaged in the wake of a Presidentially declared disaster.

Q. Who funds the other 25 percent of the costs?
A. In Arkansas, the state and the applicant equally share the responsibility for the other 25 percent of the cost.

Q. Who is eligible?
A. State government agencies, local government agencies, Indian tribes, and certain private non-profit agencies.

Q. What kinds of private non-profit agencies would qualify?
A. Organizations that operate and maintain educational, utility, emergency, medical, custodial care and other essential services to the general public that are of a governmental nature.

Q. What are some private, non-profit agencies considered essential?
A. These include museums, zoos, community centers, libraries, homeless shelters, shelter workshops, and facilities which provide health and safety services.

Q. What are the basic eligibility requirements for Public Assistance?
A. Basic eligibility criteria requires that work and related costs must:

  • Be a result of the declared event and not a pre-disaster condition.
  • Be located within a designated county eligible for assistance.
  • Be the legal responsibility of an eligible applicant.
  • Not be eligible for assistance under another federal program.

Q. What kinds of work are eligible?
A. Work considered eligible for assistance is classified as either emergency or permanent. Emergency work includes debris removal and other emergency protective measures. Approved debris rem...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top