April Deadlines Set to File for Disaster Unemployment Due to the Nisqually Earthquake

Main Content
Release date: 
March 29, 2001
Release Number: 

Olympia, WA -- Residents unemployed as a result of the Nisqually Earthquake who live or work in the declared counties are eligible to file for Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA), state and Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) officials announced today.

"This program extends coverage only to those who would otherwise be ineligible for unemployment compensation under the regular state program," said Diane Offord, State Coordinating Officer. To date, Washington State Employment Security Department (ESD) reports that nearly 170 applications have been requested.

The special assistance program provides unemployment benefits for self-employed and other categories of workers that do not qualify for standard unemployment compensation benefits.

"The Disaster Unemployment Assistance program is designed to help people make ends meet until they can get back to work or resume their customary employment," explained FEMA Federal Coordinating Officer Bill Lokey.

Federally funded, DUA is administered by ESD. Individuals who want to file for benefits can apply by calling 1-866-416-7274 to request an application form. Information is also available on the ESD website.

Workers from these declared counties must apply by the following dates:

  • April 6-Grays Harbor, King, Kitsap, Lewis, Mason, Pierce, Snohomish and Thurston.
  • April 23-Cowlitz, Island, Jefferson, Pacific, Skagit, Skamania, Wahkiakum andYakima.
  • April 25-Benton, Clallam, Clark and Whatcom.
Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top