Main Content

Approved Aid For Nisqually Earthquake Tops $14 Million

Release date: 
March 28, 2001
Release Number: 

Olympia, WA -- Federal and state agencies have approved $14,315,378 in aid to help Washington residents following the Nisqually earthquake.

The following is a summary of ongoing response and recovery efforts since the Presidential disaster declaration on March 1.

  • Since the disaster declaration, $14,315,378 in aid has been approved for disaster rental assistance and minimal repair grants.
  • Inspectors have completed 11,799 residential inspections in the declared counties.
  • In addition to the $14.3 million for disaster housing, the Individual and Family Grant program has approved $682,879 for residents affected by the earthquake. Grants are for serious disaster-related needs and necessary expenses not covered by insurance or other disaster programs.
  • The number of applications made for disaster assistance through FEMA's toll-free registration line totaled 14,564 at the close of business, March 27.
  • State and federal officials continue to urge disaster victims to call the registration number at 1-800-462-9029 or TTY 1-800-462-7585.

FEMA disaster assistance covers basic needs only and will not normally compensate individuals for their entire loss. Persons covered by insurance may receive assistance from the government for areas not covered by their insurance. Some disaster aid does not have to be paid back, while other types of help may come in the form of loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA). FEMA representatives will explain the process when persons call for assistance.

Low-interest loans from SBA are available to homeowners, renters and businesses of all sizes to cover private property damage that is not fully compensated by insurance or other sources. Disaster loans from SBA are the primary source of funds for repairing earthquake damage.

To date, 20 Washington counties have been declared federal disaster areas. The counties of Benton, Clallam, Clark, Cowlitz, Grays Harbor, Island, Jefferson, King, Kitsap, Lewis, Mason, Pacific, Pierce, Skagit, Skamania, Snohomish, Thurston, Whatcom, Wahkiakum, and Yakima are eligible for disaster relief programs including grants for temporary housing and minimal repair from FEMA, and low-interest loans from SBA for affected homeowners, renters and businesses of all sizes.

Counties declared for Public Assistance include Clallam, Grays Harbor, King, Kitsap, Lewis, Mason, Pierce, Skagit, Thurston, Snohomish, and Whatcom. Public Assistance is aid to state, local or tribal governments to pay part of the costs of rebuilding a community's damaged infrastructure under the law. All local governments were automatically made eligible for Hazard Mitigation assistance with the original declaration.

Indian tribal governments eligible for Public Assistance and Individual Assistance funding include the Confederated Tribes of the Chehalis Reservation, Jamestown S'Klallam Tribe, Lower Elwha, Lummi Nation, Makah Tribe, Muckleshoot Tribe, Nisqually Tribe, Nooksack Tribe, Port Gamble Indian Community, Puyallup Tribe, Quileute Tribe, Quinault Nation, Samish Nation, Sauk-Suiattle Tribe, Skokomish Tribe, Snoqualmie Tribe, Squaxin Island Tribe, Stillaguamish Tribe, Suquamish Tribe, Swinomish Tribe, The Tulalip Tribes, and the Upper Skagit Tribe.

The Hoh Tribe, Shoalwater Bay Tribe, and Yakama Nation are eligible for Individual Assistance only.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: