Four More Counties Added to Washington Earthquake Declaration

Main Content
Release date: 
March 22, 2001
Release Number: 

Olympia, WA -- Four additional counties have been added to the federal disaster declaration for the 6.8 magnitude earthquake that struck Western Washington on Feb. 28. Washington State and Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) officials announced today the addition of Benton, Clallam, Clark and Whatcom counties for Individual Assistance (IA). This brings to 20 the total number of counties designated for assistance.

Clallam and Whatcom counties, along with Snohomish County, already designated for IA, have also been designated for Public Assistance (PA). All counties were automatically made eligible for Hazard Mitigation assistance with the original disaster declaration.

The designation of Benton, Clark, Clallam and Whatcom counties makes individuals and businesses eligible for disaster relief programs including grants for temporary housing from FEMA, and low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) for affected homeowners, renters and businesses of all sizes.

State and federal officials urge disaster victims in all the declared counties to call the teleregistration number at 1-800-462-9029 or TTY 1-800-462-7585. To date, 12,148 Washington residents have registered for disaster assistance through FEMA's toll-free registration. The deadline for applying for disaster assistance is April 30.

Following a disaster, SBA provides the primary source of federal assistance for private sector losses through its disaster loan program. Victims should not delay in filing an application for SBA assistance.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top