Two Counties Added For Maine Snowstorm Aid

Main Content
Release date: 
March 21, 2001
Release Number: 

Washington, DC -- Androscoggin and Oxford counties have been added to the list of Maine jurisdictions that were designated for federal assistance under President Bush's emergency declaration issued last night for the snowstorm that struck the state earlier this month, according to the head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

FEMA Director Joe M. Allbaugh said the action was taken after determining that the two additional counties experienced record and near record snowfall from the winter storm that occurred March 5-7. The counties initially designated for assistance were Cumberland, Lincoln, Sagadahoc and York.

The emergency declaration makes federal funds available to reimburse state and local agencies in the designated counties for 75 percent of the total eligible costs of equipment, contracts, and personnel overtime related to emergency services in dealing with the snow over a 48-hour period. These are the crucial hours when work crews clear snow from emergency routes and roads to critical facilities to permit the passage of emergency vehicles. Related emergency protective measures such as sanding and salting, search and rescue, shelter operations, and police and fire department response also are eligible for reimbursement.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top