Main Content

Disaster Recovery News Summary - Approved Aid Reaches $1.6 Million

Main Content
Release date: 
March 8, 2001
Release Number: 

Olympia, WA -- Federal and state agencies have approved more than $1.6 million in aid to help Washington residents following the Nisqually earthquake.

The following is a summary of ongoing response and recovery efforts since the Presidential disaster declaration on March 1.

  • During the six days since the disaster declaration, $1,659,877 in aid has been approved for disaster temporary housing assistance and minimal repair grants.
  • The number of applications made for disaster assistance through FEMA's toll-free registration line totaled 4,737 at the close of business, Wednesday, March 7. State and federal officials continue to urge disaster victims to call the registration number at 1-800-462-9029 or TTY 1-800-462-7585.
  • Inspectors have completed 1,198 residential inspections in the declared counties.
  • Eight Washington counties have been declared federal disaster areas. The counties of King, Kitsap, Lewis, Mason, Pierce and Thurston are eligible for Public and Individual Assistance. Grays Harbor and Snohomish counties are eligible for Individual Assistance and are being considered for Public Assistance.

Government disaster assistance covers basic needs only and will not normally compensate individuals for their entire loss. Persons covered by insurance may receive assistance from the government for areas not covered by the insurance. Some disaster aid does not have to be paid back, while other types of help may come in the form of loans. FEMA representatives will explain the process when persons call for assistance.

NOTE: FEMA has hired 25 local residents at the Disaster Field Office in Olympia to help with support services. The hires are assigned to various office-related activities.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: