Disaster Unemployment Assistance Available in Eight Counties

Main Content
Release date: 
March 7, 2001
Release Number: 

Olympia, WA -- As a result of Governor Gary Locke's emergency proclamation, special financial assistance is available in eight counties for workers who lost their job, can't get to work or were injured because of the February 28 earthquake.

Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) is available to workers in King, Kitsap, Lewis, Mason, Pierce, Thurston, Snohomish and Grays Harbor counties who became unemployed as a result of the earthquake, but do not qualify for regular unemployment benefits. Qualified applicants will be eligible to receive from $140 to $478 per week, in benefits.

Employment Security Department Acting Commissioner Paul Trause encourages any unemployed workers who think they may be eligible to call for an application or go to the local Employment Security office.

The assistance became available when President Bush responded to Governor Locke's emergency proclamation by declaring the eight counties federal disaster areas. People may be eligible for the assistance if they work or reside in any of these counties, and as a direct result of the earthquake they:

  • no longer have a job or could not return to a job starting March 4, 2001,
  • are unable to reach their place of employment, or
  • cannot work because of an injury sustained in the disaster.

Self-employed individuals are also eligible for DUA if they are unemployed as a direct result of the disaster. They should provide a copy of a tax return or documentation showing their net earnings from self-employment for tax year 2000 when filing an application for DUA.

To request an application form be mailed or faxed to you, call 1-866-416-7274 today. Applications are accepted for the 30 days following this press release.

Last Updated: 
July 19, 2012 - 23:02
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top