Disaster Recovery News Summary - Nearly $1 Million In Aid Approved

Main Content
Release date: 
March 7, 2001
Release Number: 

Olympia, WA -- Federal and state agencies have approved nearly $1 million in aid to help Washington residents following the Nisqually earthquake.

The following is a summary of ongoing response and recovery efforts since the Presidential disaster declaration on March 1.

  • During the five days since the disaster declaration, $996,954 in aid has been approved for disaster temporary housing assistance and minimal repair grants.

  • The number of applications made for disaster assistance through FEMA's toll-free registration line totaled 3,653 at the close of business, Tuesday, March 6. State and federal officials continue to urge disaster victims to call the registration number at 1-800-462-9029 or TTY 1-800-462-7585.

  • Inspectors have completed 713 residential inspections in the declared counties.

  • Eight Washington counties have been declared federal disaster areas. The counties of King, Kitsap, Lewis, Mason, Pierce and Thurston are eligible for Public and Individual Assistance. Grays Harbor and Snohomish counties are eligible for Individual Assistance and are being considered for Public Assistance.

Government disaster assistance covers basic needs only and will not normally compensate individuals for their entire loss. Persons covered by insurance may receive assistance from the government for areas not covered by the insurance. Some disaster aid does not have to be paid back, while other types of help may come in the form of loans. FEMA representatives will explain the process when called.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top