Grays Harbor And Snohomish Counties Added To Washington Earthquake Declaration

Main Content
Release date: 
March 6, 2001
Release Number: 

Olympia, WA -- Washington State and federal officials announced today at the disaster field office in Qlympia that two additional counties have been added to the federal disaster declaration for the 6.8 magnitude earthquake that struck Western Washington on Feb. 28.

Grays Harbor and Snohomish counties make a total of eight counties in the disaster area, joining King, Kitsap, Lewis, Mason, Pierce and Thurston.

The designation for Grays Harbor and Snohomish counties makes individuals eligible for disaster relief programs available under the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act. The programs provide temporary housing, grants and loans for affected individuals.

In response to the state's request, Federal Coordinating Officer Bill Lokey has also directed that assessments of damage to public facilities be done to see if the counties are eligible for a public assistance declaration under the Stafford Act.

To register for disaster assistance, individuals need to call the toll-free number, 1-800-462-9029. Hearing or speech-impaired persons may call TTY 1-800-462-7585.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top